Posted on: March 17, 2008 7:29 pm
Edited on: March 18, 2008 10:01 am

A lesson from Melzer

I watched the last few games of the match between Jurgen Melzer and Andy Murray on Saturday. There was one shot Melzer hit down the line and in the blur of the moment it 'might' have touched the outside of the line. The Linesman called it out and, shades of Andy Roddick, Melzer was livid. How could the umpire call it out? By the way, is a ball 'in' when the bottom of the ball contacts the edge of the line or is it the birds eye view that matters? That's another question. This one is about how to react when you think you have been snookered. Melzer's reaction was harsh and he didn't want to forget about it. He chided the linesman then and after the match. I don't remember what the score was at the time. It wasn't match point. It wasn't set point. It wasn't game point. Really, it was a mute point. A game of inches you say? Every point counts you say?

My point is this. The last point is ancient history in tennis or any sport you play. It should be remembered like Washington crossing the Delaware should be remembered.  It's interesting but over.  If hawkeye is in operation challenge the call.  If not then move on.  The only point that matters is the next point and that one is critical. The athlete or team that is able to think that way will never be snookered. If you felt short changed by what just happened then you have to channel your feelings into focus on the next point.
Category: Tennis
Tags: Focus, Lines, Melzer, Rules
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com